Okay, it actually IS cold today.

Whew.  It’s about 35 degrees right now, and for Texas, that’s COLD. I don’t really have any clothing down here to deal with temperatures that low, so I’m going to go ahead and freak out along with the locals. I think it will be fun. I’ll get out my quilt, that I never get to use, and make myself huge mugs of tea, and encourage the cat to sit on me all day. And, since the windchill of a bike ride to campus might be enough to kill me, I think I’ll take the day off from lab work (too easy to make that decision!).

the aforementioned cat

The only downside I see in this situation is that it’s too cold to go for my run. Usually I love running when it’s cold, but I really don’t have anything to wear. Everything is either too thin or too heavy. Good for running in the heat, or walking around in the cold. I can visualize the little stack of XC ski clothes in my closet at home in Seattle, mocking me with their cold-weather exercise perfection. ARG!

The frustration is especially acute because I just counted, and I have seventeen days until I will be “running” a half marathon. Um – whose idea was that? I seem to recall the thought that it would give me incentive to keep running over winter break, but that was before I had a mole removed from smack in the middle of my left calf muscle (all clear – yay!) and had to limp around for two weeks. So instead of being in shape for a 13.1 mile run, I’m in shape for a 3 mile run.

This is turning into a rant.  Time to change the subject!

To compensate for the dearth of running, since I refuse to go to campus and run inside on the dreadmill, I’m spending the day at the house, knitting and reading papers, and dinking around on the internet (obviously). I might get nuts later and clean my room, so I can finally be rid of the Evil Collapsing Couch. I’m debating sawing the legs off and keeping the frame, or just chucking the whole thing. I think I’m partial to the chucking option.

Maybe I’ll keep the pillows to build forts next time the temperature drops.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

